Wednesday, January 31, 2007

From APSE site, 2/1/07

Baseball Writers Association

Liaison: Barry Forbis, Rocky Mountain News.

President: Charlie Scoggins, Lowell Sun, 12 Cliffside Road, Lowell, MA 01852. Home: 508-454-1625. Office: 508-458-7100.

Vice president: Ian MacDonald, Montreal Gazette, 250 Saint Antoine St., Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3R7, Canada. Home: 514-482-6911. Office: 514-987-2521.

Secretary-Treasurer: Jack O'Connell, Hartford Courant, 78 Olive St., Lake Grove, NY 11755. Home: 631-981-7938. Fax: 631-585-4669. E-mail:

Board of directors: Bob Elliott, Toronto Sun; Jeff Horrigan, Cincinnati Post; Gerry Fraley, Dallas Morning News; Bob Finnegan, Seattle Times.

Meetings: Twice a year: All-Star Game and World Series.

Membership: 825 (baseball reporters, sports editors, columnists and feature reporters who cover baseball).

Dues: $50 nationally; local dues vary.

Concerns/issues: Access to players and club officials, credentials.

Financial contracts: None.

Activities: Voting on BBWAA awards, which include MVP, Rookie of the Year, Cy Young and Manager of the Year.


Post a Comment

<< Home